ORIGINAL SINCE 1997

the brand

flip*flop was founded in 1997. Since then: Life is better in flip*flops! We bring the typical relaxed flip*flop feeling from the beach to the city, to home and to the spa with our easy-to-wear collection. Me*time, quality*time, instant*holiday feeling, an everyday escape into the comfort zone!

flip*flop is the right choice for almost every occasion 24/7: whether red carpet or wedding, beach or city. Affinity towards Design, fashion competence and the "easy to match"-idea are significant to the entire product range. The "flip*flop original" is the heart of the brand in terms of a trendy, ageless and timeless classic. It turns "the simplest shoe in the world" into a fashion item and advances to become a modern classic that is indispensable. Its pure form, concentrated on the essentials, the large selection of basic and ever new trend colours make the original a favourite shoe for women, men and kids. Among women, flip*flop has a brand awareness level of over 90 percent.

The most simple shoe in the world - and yet the flip*flop original moves safely on every ground: In addition to our collections, we always launch exciting co-operations with premium brands such as Porsche, Tamara Comolli or VOGUE.

What makes you an original?

How do you become an original? Which values make originals? Timelessness, trust, quality, unmistakability, joy

We live in a time in which the value of originals is increasing because they embody reliability and consistency. Values that we need to feel comfortable. Therefore we are all the more pleased to be surrounded by such a wonderful and authentic product every day. The flip*flop original - staged in a new light every season. An immovable style classic of our time, which we are very proud of. The flip*flop original has experienced great things in the recent years: exciting special editions and cooperations with brands and designers... and last but not least, it was the winner of an independent pollutant test.

Quality and sustainability is our priority and distinguishes us from no-name products that just survive a holiday. All our products are continuously subject to the strictest quality and pollutant tests according to German standards, we use 100% vegan materials. You can read more about our corporate responsibility on the website of our FAMILY HOLDING BERND HUMMEL.

Enjoy our products and the original as a 24/7 companion and "lifetime friend"!

Stay Original,
Anne-Katrin Hummel 
Managing&Creative Director

A little bit of history

1997 the flip*flop original is presented and the brand flip*flop is being registered in Germany. Already in 2001 the original is available in more than 50 colours and has established itself in the fashion world. In 2002 the German VOGUE awards the flip*flop original as "Highlight of the year". With the purchase of the brand flip*flop by Bernd D. Hummel in 2003 the flip*flop GmbH is founded and our product range has expanded.

In 2007 Anne-Katrin Hummel joined the family business as Creative Director of the brand flip*flop and together with her father Bernd D. Hummel managing director of the company. Her sister Julia Hummel joins the family business in 2008. We are Family!

With flip*flop MURKUDIS we started our first collaboration in 2009: The cooperation with fashion designer Kostas Murkudis really positioned flip*flop way beyond casual sandals: The first collection was launched at the Berlin Fashion Week and sold in top stores. To this day, exciting collaborations with premium labels continue to follow alongside seasonal collections.

ORIGINAL SINCE 1997

the brand

flip*flop eShop

flip*flop wurde 1997 gegründet. Seither gilt: Life is better in flip*flops! Das typisch entspannte flip*flop Feeling bringen wir mit unserer easy-to-wear Collection vom Strand in die City, nach Hause und ins Spa.  Me*time, quality*time, instant*holiday feeling, Alltagsflucht in die Wohlfühlzone!

flip*flop ist 24/7 nahezu zu jedem Anlass genau richtig: Ob Red Carpet oder Hochzeit, Strand oder Stadt. Design-Anspruch, Fashion-Kompetenz und der „easy to match“-Gedanke sind für die gesamte Produktpalette signifikant. Der „flip*flop Original“ ist als trendiger, alters- und zeitloser Klassiker das Herzstück der Marke. Er macht „den einfachsten Schuh der Welt“ zu einem Modeartikel und avanciert zu einem modernen Klassiker, der nicht mehr wegzudenken ist. Seine pure, aufs Wesentliche konzentrierte Form, die große Auswahl an Basic- und immer wieder neuen Trendfarben machen den original zum Lieblingsschuh für Frauen, Männer und Kids. Bei Frauen hält flip*flop einen Bekanntheitsgrad von über 90 Prozent.

The most simple shoe in the world – und doch bewegt sich der flip*flop original sicher auf jedem Parkett: Neben unseren Kollektionen launchen wir immer wieder spannende Kooprerationen mit Premium Brands wie Porsche, Tamara Comolli oder VOGUE.

What makes you an original?

Wie wird man zu einem Original? Welche Werte machen originals aus? Zeitlosigkeit, Vertrauen, Qualität, Unverkennbarkeit, Freude….

Wir leben in einer Zeit, in der die Wertigkeit von Originalen steigt, weil sie Zuverlässigkeit und Beständigkeit verkörpern. Werte, die wir brauchen, um uns wohl zu fühlen. Wir freuen uns daher umso mehr, von einem so wunderbar authentischen Produkt, dem flip*flop original tagtäglich umgeben zu sein und ihn jede Saison neu zu inszenieren. Ein unverrückbarer Stilklassiker unserer Zeit, auf den wir sehr stolz sind. Großartiges hat der flip*flop original in den letzten Jahren erlebt: Spannende Special Editions und Kooperationen mit Marken & Designern… und nicht zuletzt wurde er Testsieger eines unabhängigen Schadstofftests.

Qualität und Nachhaltigkeit hat für uns Priorität und unterscheidet uns von no-name Produkten, die gerade mal einen Urlaub überleben. Alle unsere Produkte unterliegen kontinuierlich strengsten Qualität- und Schadstofftests nach deutschen Standards, wir verwenden zu 100% vegane Materialien. Mehr zu unserer Corporate Responsibility gibt es auf der Website unserer FAMILIENHOLDING BERND HUMMEL zu lesen.

Viel Freude mit unseren Produkten und dem Original als 24/7 Begleiter und „lifetime friend“!

Stay Original,
Anne-Katrin Hummel
Managing&Creative Director

A little bit of history

1997 wird der flip*flop original präsentiert und die Marke flip*flop in Deutschland eingetragen. Schon 2001 ist das Original in mehr als 50 Farben erhältlich und hat sich in der Fashion Welt etabliert. 2002 kürt die deutsche VOGUE den flip*flop original zu einem „Highlight des Jahres“. Mit dem Kauf der Marke flip*flop durch Bernd D. Hummel in 2003 wird die flip*flop GmbH gegründet und unsere Produktpalette erweitert.

2007 tritt Anne-Katrin Hummel als Creative Director der Marke flip*flop ins Familienunternehmen ein und wird zusammen mit ihrem Vater Bernd D. Hummel Geschäftsführerin der Firma. Ihre Schwester Julia Hummel kommt 2008 an Bord des Familienunternehmens. We are Family!

Mit flip*flop MURKUDIS starten wir in 2009 die erste Kollaboration: Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Modedesigner Kostas Murkudis positioniert flip*flop endgültig jenseits der ‚Badelatsche‘: Die erste Kollektion wird zur Berlin Fashion Week gelauncht und in top Stores verkauft. Bis heute folgen neben saisonalen Kollektionen immer wieder spannende Kollaborationen mit premium Labels. 

ABOUT     |     UNTERNEHMEN UND TEAM     |     WERTE